Page Tools
Sign up to receive ArcelorMittal Flat Products Packaging news alerts by email
Page tools
Share on
Contact us Contact us

For the 3rd consecutive year ArcelorMittal has been recognised Steel Sustainability Champion for its work and commitment in sustainable development in 2019

The Steel Sustainability Champions Programme honores the steel companies that are most clearly demonstrating their commitment to sustainable development. Nine companies have been awarded this year.

To be recognised, they must:



  • Provide data for 6 of the worldsteel Sustainability Indicators (material efficiency, environmental management systems, lost time injury frequency rate, employee training, investment in new processes and products, economic value distributed)
  • Provide Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) data to worldsteel’s data collection programme that covers more than 50% of the company’s crude steel production data and is less than 5 years old.


  • Publish a sustainability-related report
  • Be shortlisted in one of 5 worldsteel Steelie Awards (Innovation of the year, Excellence in sustainability, Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment, Excellence in education and training, and Excellence in Communications programmes) or must be recognised in the Safety and Health Recognition Programme.

The nine awarded companies are: ArcelorMittal, BlueScope Steel Ltd, China Steel Corp. (CSC), JSW Steel Ltd., Nippon Steel Corp., Tata Steel Europe, Tata Steel Ltd, Tenaris and Ternium.

This award is the perfect recognition of what has already been achieved by all the steel companies and a great motivation to keep on the good work and go further.

More information on Worldsteel’s initiatives here



Banner image: temortu /
Courtesy of Worldsteel

About Worldsteel

You might also be interested in...

ArcelorMittal Climate Action Report

This report explains how steel is made today, what our carbon challenge is, how it can be successfully addressed and what policies and support are required to make this possible.